Workplace wellbeing charter

The Workplace Wellbeing Charter is a statement of intent, showing your commitment to the health of the people who work for you.

Click here to find out more »

Why do it?

There is clear evidence to show that improving workplace health and wellbeing makes good business sense.

Click here to find out more »

What's involved

Having your organisation assessed is a simple process, you can even self assess to see how you fare.

Click here to find out more »

Charter downloads and tools

The charter and standards are available to view online.

Click here to find out more »

News and Twitter feeds

Click here to find out more »

What’s involved and what do I do next?

First of all, read the information on the website and familiarise yourself with the Workplace Wellbeing Charter and its different levels.

Employers can sign up to it using our online self-assessment tool, and find out what they are already doing right, and where they need to improve. It is relevant to all businesses, no matter how big or small they are, as long as they employ staff and can demonstrate their commitment to the health and wellbeing of those staff. It is open to all public, private and third sector organisations.

The Charter focuses on three key areas - leadership, culture and communication - where even small steps can make a big difference to the health of your staff, and therefore the health of your organisation.

The Workplace Wellbeing Charter comes in three levels, each containing different standards that need to be achieved. Some, or all, will be relevant to you depending on the size and direction of your organisation. The three levels are Commitment; Achievement and Excellence. You can find out about each of those three levels, and what is required to attain them, in the wording of the Charter itself and via our online self-assessment tool. You can progress from one to another by achieving all of the necessary standards. 

For smaller organisations the Commitment level acts as a useful checklist to ensure legal obligations are met. The criteria for Commitment level should not involve significant financial investments, and there are lots of free resources and guidance on this website as well as support from your local provider.

Each of the three levels will consider, in different ways, issues such as leadership, sickness and absence management, awareness of alcohol and drug abuse, smoking, mental health and stress, healthy eating and physical activity.  

If employers wish to be formally assessed against the standards there is a network of providers across England who can provide formal accreditation services. Providers are either Local Authorities or social enterprises commissioned to deliver on behalf of Local Authorities. Over 1,000 organisations have received the award across England, with a strong mix of small, medium and large employers across the private, public and third sectors. 

Standards all organisations should meet; putting the building blocks in place.
Actively encouraging positive lifestyle choices and addressing health issues.
Fully engaged leadership with a range of programmes and support mechanisms.